Advanced Search

What's New
Solomon's Colonnade for Concert Band

List: $75.00
Price: $63.99

Notify me of updates to Frost Fall (Creider)
Free Newsletter
Win a Free [guitar]
Make a Payment

Contact Us
Privacy Notice
About Us
International Shipping Charges
Boulder Creek Products
Security Notice
Return Policy
Printable Catalog

Affiliate Login
Become an Affiliate
Become a Reseller


More Products

Click to enlarge

Frost Fall (Creider)
Model# MI-636266667451

List Price:$49.99
Save Up To:$10.00 (20%)

Wishlist Add to Wishlist
Email Email a Friend
Print Print This Page
Share Share This

This is sold as a set with score and (1) copy of each ensemble part. The end user may make as many copies as needed for HIS PERFORMING GROUP ONLY. Dealers, please send along full customer information for proper watermarking of materials.
Click the PLAY button for an audio sample!
Composer's Notes: I began composing this music on December 3, 2016, which was my motherís birthday, two weeks and three days before she passed away. At the time my mother, Norma, was already in the hospital recovering from a standard pacemaker procedure. Little did I know that within three weeks, she would be walking with God. She was 92 when she passed on to reunite with loved ones in Heaven. She and my late father, Jim, who passed away in March 2011, are the inspiration for this composition, just as they were my inspiration for many things in my life. Frost Fall, The Winter of Life, is a tone poem (or program music if you prefer) that musically takes the listener on a journey from the moment of lifeís conception when a soul merges with a living being, through the personís life and death, and to Heaven, the reunion of souls and the triumph of eternal life over death. It consists of five sections: Conception, Life, Death, The Passing and The Light. Conception: (Measures 1 thru 18) The Conception section introduces one's soul entering the life form in the womb. This section begins with the timpani simulating the mother's heart beat and is joined later with the bass drum simulating the new baby's heart beat. The glockenspiel sings of the presence of the new soul. The new life has begun. The initial key is D major and the tempo is 66. Time signature is 5/4. Life: (Measures 19 thru 82) The Life section depicts the joys of life as the horns and woodwinds play among themselves. As life matures the strings come to bear. Woodwinds join in the melody as life grows and matures even more. Then the brass and woodwinds join together to announce the prime of life. At the end of this section, the dissonance reflects how fragile life is. Time signature changes to 6/8 while the key stays in D major. The tempo remains at 66. Death: (Measures 83 thru 136) The Death section describes the pain and loneliness of the dying person and then the moment of the physical body's death. The fragility of life and the suddenness of its end is heard as the strings open this section. When the oboe, followed by the woodwinds, enters, death is at hand with its solitude and terror. When the glockenspiel returns, it marks the soul leaving the earthly body. The bass drum slowly beats as the heart grudgingly, faintly stops. Key changes to D minor. The time signature changes to 3/4. The tempo remains at 66 and then begins to slow in measure 120 until it reaches 36 in measure 134. The Passing: (Measures 137 thru 166) In the Passing section, the music begins the journey to Heaven's gate with the appearance of one's guardian angels followed by Jesus. The low strings introduce the unknown of the afterlife, the next stage Ė passing from the earthly realm to the heavenly kingdom. Violins and horns herald the coming of the Angels to greet the freed soul. The fanfare of trumpets and trombones marks the arrival of Jesus Christ, who has come to bring the soul to Heaven. The passing begins with an ascending sequence in minor seconds played by the strings. Key changes to F major. The time signature changes to 4/4. The tempo begins to accelerate in measure 138 from 72 to 120 in measure 165. In measure 166, the tempo slows to 72 before transitioning to The Light beginning in measure 167. The Light: (Measures 167 to 224) The Light section introduces us to the beauty and joy of Heaven, the reunion with one's passed loved ones, and being in the presence of God. Flutes and low brass, followed by the trumpets and horns, mark the soulís arrival in Heaven. The reunion of souls begin with the joyful noise of the high woodwinds. More souls reunite when the strings join in. Yet more souls join in as the horns and trumpets sound off. This section comes to a quiet end with the return of the once melancholy death themes, now in A major rather than D minor, as the clarinets and horns join with the oboe and flutes to declare the victory over death and the quiet triumph of eternal life in the Light. In this new context, death has been denied and eternal life has won the day, again. Key changes to A major. The time signature returns to 5/4. The tempo is 72 beginning in measure 167. Starting in measure 215 the tempo slows to 50 at measure 219 as the piece comes to its finish in measure 224. Intended Audience This version has been composed with a high school/college/community orchestra in mind. Its orchestration does not adhere 100% to the standard orchestra instrumentation in that I use three clarinet parts, three Bb trumpet parts, one bassoon part, and one oboe part (with no specific maximum limit of players).


Can you believe it? No one has said anything about this product. Please feel free to leave a review about a product you have tried.